I follow a blog called “Aromatic Essence.” A week ago, her blog featured a crazy chocolate cupcake without eggs, butter or milk. It was thriftily made during the Depression. As my mom was a product of the Depression, I remembered saving this recipe. I haven’t made it but I do remember eating it. I promised Freda Diaz “Aromatic Essence” that I would post the recipe. I hope she tries it and I hope you check out her blog. She is a fantastic cook.

1/2 cup fresh hot mashed Idaho potatoes
1/2 of quarter lb. butter Land O Lakes
1 cup- sugar Domino’s
1 egg lightly beaten
2 cups self raising Gold Medal Flour
3/4 cup milk
12 tsp. freshly grated lemon peel
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
12 cup raisins Del Monte

Topping

1/4 lb melted butter
1 cup sugar
1/2 large, freshly squeezed lemon

Beat butter into hot potatoes. Add rest of ingredients as given. Gently beat until blended and smooth. Pour into lightly greased 8 inch square baking pan. Pour topping over cake and bake at 350 % about 25 minutes. Cake will leek moist on top. Cool before removing from pan.

This is a very rich cake and will serve 6 to 8.

I copied this recipe exactly as my mom’s typewriter. It is a richer cake but my mom, a practical soul most likely baked it after saving mashed potatoes left over from the night before. Enjoy. The summer is going so quickly but it was a good one!

