blue_fantasy_horse__by_alinaermogenous-d68900f Pegasus by Fred Marchman Mobile, Al. 1984-wooden carved statue which I found myself glancing at the other day.

Fred Marchman passed away April 19th, 2016 at the age of 75 in Fairhope, Alabama. I read the obituary in silence. I was watching an art show on tv and had glanced over at the statue by Mr. Marchman. I remembered meeting him in a small friendly backwoods church on the way to Fairhope. I had just arrived from New York City and I was 28 years old. I met Mr. Marchman and he invited me to see his studio and garden in Mobil, Alabama. He sold me a beautiful carved wooden statue called “Pegasus.” I was working in sales and didn’t have much money but he noticed I loved it and priced it accordingly. I remember him as slightly eccentric and highly creative. Every garden piece had its own story which he told me as I spent the afternoon sipping ice tea and listening.

Then I got in my car and drove home across the bridge to Bon Secour, Alabama. Memories come and memories slip by so quickly. The quiet times shared with someone offering a different perspective is always appreciated.

I read some of the notes on his obituary post and this sums it up best, “He was a most unusual spirit.” If this is the best and the worst of what one friend or acquaintance can remember of Fred, I think this is good. To pass away quietly and be remembered by a few admiring fans is much better than a gaggle of quacking geese vying for your remains. Cheers! Thanks for listening.

