mycousinvinnyI am printing this delicious recipe which I picked up the other day perusing the aisles at Publix. I follow a blog called “Paula’s Comfort Kitchen” and she requested the recipe. I like reading her blog for the simple but good recipes she shares. I never imagined that I would be a fan of grits until my husband introduced me to instant grits a couple of years ago. Before that, I based my opinion of grits on the famous scene from My Cousin Vinny with Marisa Tomei. Google My Cousin Vinny-scene with grits when Marisa takes a picture of Vinny eating grits.

We have leftovers as this recipe was for 4 people. The grits were delicious the next day as was the reheated pork chops.

Ingredients

4 (8-oz.) pork chops
2 tbs. olive oil
1/2 yellow onion, thinly sliced
4 fresh thyme sprigs
4 tsp.unbleached all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1/4 cup heavy cream
2 cups whole milk
1 cup instant grits

1. Heat a large heavy skillet over medium-high heat. Season pork with salt and pepper. Add oil and pork to skillet and cook for 4 minutes per side, or until deeply browned.Remove port from skillet and discard all but 1 tbs. fat.

2. Add onions and thyme to same skillet and book, stirring often, for 5 minutes, or until onions are tender and charred in some spots. Sprinkle flour over onions and stir to coat evenly. Add broth and cream and bring to a simmer. Simmer for about 5 minutes, or until gravy has thickened slightly. Season with salt and pepper. Return pork and its juices to gravy and simmer for about 4 minutes, or until pork is booked through. Discard thyme stems.

3. Meanwhile, in a medium saucepan over medium heat, bring milk and 1 3/4 cups water to a boil. Add grits in a steady stream while whisking. Cook grits, stirring often, for 6 to 8 minutes, or until grits are cooked. Season with salt and pepper.

4. Spoon grits into 4 dinner bowls. Place pork on grits, spoon gravy over, and serve.

