liked this poem by Mr. Riley and thought I would post it before going my way Monday morning. Seems like it will be a busy week for us.  Enjoy the week and if you have the time, go walk in some fields.

Eunoia Review

Because floods

overwhelm city

streets and fjords


alike I promise

always to observe


skyscrapers alongside


peonies. To divest

from corporate


prayer. To believe

dichotomies


only when

necessary. After all,


what’s prayer comparable to?

Dandelions wilt


as I walk past them,


you can’t save

yourself, that’s just

living. You can’t name


the book of love, it’s made

of names.


Of names


scrawled on insensible

parchment. I know,


Sunday’s a day of rest.

It’s probably better


to forget one’s own

name than to remember


one’s forgotten one’s own

name. The wind


carried me here.


The book of love said. I followed

close behind,

tracing each nettle.


The tide rises,


overflows my desk.

I’m standing knee deep.

Scott Corbet Riley is a PhD student at UC Santa Cruz, studying US poetry. He has published essays and poems in Berkeley Poetry Review, Rattle, and Landscapes. He holds an MFA from St. Mary’s College…

View original post 6 more words

