Sometimes you only learn by experience why students are complaining about homework or overload in one class.  The instructor who left suddenly may have experienced similar difficulties.  Some of the students are excellent but I have some Arabic speakers with very low grades who show no inclination of doing the assigned work, so they complain and return from a break 25 minutes later.  I didn’t face the same issues when working at the private university and if I did, the university always supported me.

I also was asked to choose someone to assist me with questions, so I choose the one person who was always present and always cheerful in passing in the instructor office.  Unfortunately, he and I do not share the same classes.  There was no way for me to know this and the information was not volunteered.  On the other hand, I have been pleasantly surprised by the effort and talent shown through the student’s presentations in the grammar classes.  I was astounded by their talent and dexterity with the use of powerpoint and media.

It also demonstrated to me how best they learn.  So, the 6 weeks I was thrown into the den is almost over and I emerge with a clearer idea of teaching English to Arabic speakers, a few Chinese, and some Spanish speakers.  Will I be asked to return? I feel as if I met the expectations, kept them on track, corrected papers, motivated and tried to make the best of the situation.  Would I have liked for the situation to be presented more clearly by a mentor? Yes, but it didn’t happen and I didn’t expect it to happen so easily.  Sometimes you are not even sure of the questions you need answered until you emerge from the final exam.  That is the way life continues.  My husband is doing well, but his energy still lags far behind.  There have been many home projects he has worked on, so our garden is beautiful, and our home is well-organized again.  The chaotic days of running our store “Cupcake Cache” have passed.  We don’t miss those days but often we wonder how we survived them.

 

