Sometimes I realize that I am like my mother and then I find an old journal after she left New York City for the Catskill Mountains.  It is very entertaining…reading changing from the city to the country…kind of reminiscent of Green Acres.   

Here is a sample:

8:30 Go to basement….(about as ugly as being told to go to the devil) Start washing machine for first wash….empty mouse traps (I’ll never eat peanut butter and crackers again) all the time balancing on large rock because if you stand wet, earth floor and start machine you are subject to electrocution( mind you it has never happened, but the last repairman who ventured down into the basement after asking about snakes….if you don”t pick up any of the rocks, especially the one you are standing on it”s okay and they are not the hissing kind)Poke around in soggy, cobwebbed cardboard boxes looking for mason jars for neighbor.  Decide basement must be vacuumed and cleaned this afternoon.  Decide I must wash mason jars now, before I give them to her.

9:00 Answer phone.  Could I please find recipe for sweet & sour tripe? This is time consuming albeit fun because my cookbook collection is huge and spread out all over house and this is not one of your oft requested recipes.  Decide bookshelves must be dusted and shelves arranged this afternoon. 

9:30 Hang out laundry 1/2 mile uphill (Spouse decided clothes line was unsightly as are some of our clothes) and should be hidden far away from home…also I could look at majestic view. In front of the view, are hose, rake, pitchfork, in hopes that someone falling over some will finish gardening chores before first snowfall.  Put tools in shed, not snow but rain.  Decide shed must be cleaned this afternoon while truck is still here. 

And so on…

11:15 Call George (truck loader)

11:20 Call telephone Company

11:25 Call George Back

11:26 rescue telephone man from my amorous dog. 

and she continues with “Out to woodshed.  For a city girl, I spent a lot of time in the woodshed.” My mom wrote this journal article in response to an article commenting on the extra time housewives had and just to be totally clear…she was also a substitute teacher on call for BOCES cooking school and from April-October ran “gertrudes’ our small custard business.  It seems like I have more free time than she did but to hear my mom tell in person these stories, you wouldn’t forget! 

